Membership to professional organisations

Pitbull

Reaction score
I am a sports massage therapist and a full level 4 member of the SMA. I did my training with SPS and so was automatically directed to the SMA as the organisation with which I was to be a member. Reading through some of these threads it seems the SMA may not be as prestigious as it is initially made out to be, and that there are some other organisations that may be worth looking into.

As a newbie to all of this I was wondering if anyone could please help enlighten me as to which is actually the best organisation to become a member of, with some regards to popularity with teams and events, etc. I'm interested to hear some general opinion about where the SMA looks to be heading!

Cheers!! loupie :)

There was an earlier thread on this forum:
ISRM or SMA membership???

There has also been a lot of discussion about the SMA on the 'sports therapies' forum, and there was also quite a heated debate on
http://smaconspiracy.blogspot.com/

The SMA doesn't seem to have issued any form of newsletter to its members since the SGM in March this year, although its website is now functioning again after being unavailable for several months.

Regards

Alan