Learning "deep tissue"

HelpMee

Reaction score
I am a new graduate and have just gotten a job at a salon and spa. They offer deep tissue at a higher rate than relaxation massage, and we really did not do much deep tissue work in school. Where do I start with this?

I know that it is such a broad term and that many deep tissue techniques are completely different from what the client is expecting. I am expecting that learning specific techniques will take time and experience...but in the meantime, what is the best way to learn how to give a massage with enough pressure that the client feels the extra cost was justified? Any recommendations for books/videos? Would something like this be helpful? https://shop.integrative-healthcare.org/prodinfo.asp?number=E501

There are a few courses later in the year that I could take locally, but of course I hoped to find some way to start learning and working with some techniques now.

Learning "deep tissue"

That link appears to be for online CEUs - if you don't need the CEU's you can get the same materials cheaper here:

http://abundanthealth.com/

This is Dr. Mally's website - he is the creator of the DVD and workbook offered in the link you included in your post.

Learning "deep tissue"

Go to http://www.youtube.com

There are lots of good videos on DT and find an experiance MT in your area to trade with and pick their brain. That's what I did.I have no formal training in DT, just lots of practice

Learning "deep tissue"

Maitri said:
but in the meantime, what is the best way to learn how to give a massage with enough pressure that the client feels the extra cost was justified?

Realbodywork makes 2 good dvds on deep tissue. http://www.realbodywork.com There are certainly plenty of good clips on youtube and being mentored by more experienced therapists is also a good option.